Middle class revolution..possible?

The last few weeks I have had a lot about the middle class, perhaps it has always been out there but for the first time I can really hear it. So I will share…..

I care less…I will survive anyway

Am your typical middle class Kenyan. You know the kind that have watched politics in this country for the longest from very far, you know the kind that think we best not be bothered by this politics, the kind that will vote where the masses are rather than have an actual view on the politicians, the kind that have  a back-up plan to everything and anything just so that I do not care about politics. I am the kind who when I listen to news and hear some of the politicians who are selling their views to us, I just change channels. In my defense, those guys bore me, those guys sometimes piss me off, they just ignite emotions I would rather not think about; easier to blame them than get involved.

I guess I have resigned to whatever fate the rest of Kenyans chose for me.

As a result, every other leader who has led this country by-passes me. They focus on the masses, the ones whose only need is some short term cash then you have their vote, the ones who a good leader is that man who feeds them that night. A bit short sighted but to be honest I do not blame them. I blame those like me who know better but care less.

Then we pray

In the recent past few weeks, I got challenged by my pastor.

She brought in an interesting view; that worse, this middle class people that I champion, at best we are hell bent to pray this nation to change. Somehow we expect God to just move and change the ballot boxes on the Election Day as I pray away in my house. Faith with no action, shame on me! Oh yes prayer is necessary but it has to be followed by some action.

I guess the question I have is then what should I do? Write blogs away? Tweet away? I believe in this day and age that is part of it. But more so I need to get involved.

The other day I was in a meeting where someone explained how Americans get involved and I was amazed, this guys are bothered. When you believe in a leader, you get involved in his party, you knock doors on his behalf, you help him sell the policies. Yes it’s a dirty game I really would much rather avoid, what with my high heels go knocking people’s houses! But I cannot afford not to.

We must want this change badly enough to get our hands dirty. Okay I admit I will probably not do the door to door, I need to take baby steps anyway. But I will definitely have a view. At my first opportunity I will engage our future leaders. I will plan events where we can interact with those who want our votes. I will be vocal about the leaders I need, heck my facebook  page will have lots of political thoughts. I will do something, what will you do?

Africans like me

I came across this article, turns out they were talking about Ghana but really I could easily control find Ghana and replace with Kenya, turns out we are so similar!

In many developed countries, the middle class are the people who use their influence and educational achievements to drive change. They demand answers and accountability from their leaders. Unfortunately, it appears that in Ghana the educational, social and political elite are avoiding taking on these issues. For example, to avoid pot holes instead of lobbying the ministry for roads and highways, they driving 4x4s, they buy generators for their homes when there are power cuts, instead of challenging the power and/or electric companies. Telecommunication services are patchy and seem to be monopolised by a couple of major private companies and regardless of how diabolical services become, instead of challenging the poor level of customer services provided, people buy new sim cards or handsets. When there is a rise in crime in an area, people who can afford it, put up their walls, install electric fences and buy guns to protect themselves. Why are the increasingly wealthy so consumed by self-sustainability they fail to look beyond themselves? The elite, those with influence, whether they be from business, political, social backgrounds, who have had the benefit of private educations either at home or abroad, have the power to push for change through influence and insight. So what’s taking so long?

This one was from Nigeria. The nations ‘elite’, the nations learned people, owe a debt to their brothers and sisters to be vocal about the basic needs that everyone is entitled to rely upon; they cannot be casual about pushing for change. Why the apparent middle class inertia? As if the comfort of life has caused a waking sleep in the newly accomplished, allowing them to unconsciously forget that they have others looking up to them for help. What about their spiritual responsibility? Is it just to go to church, pay tithes and go home? What about the action, pro-activity? Or is it back to being wide asleep

The ones who have figured it out. In many countries in East Asia, the growing influence of the middle classes is having a tremendous impact on the political sphere. The future of the Malaysian and Indonesian governments hinges on middle-class people to a considerable extent. In South Korea and Taiwan, the question is how a new, mature form of nationalism can take firm hold.

The power of the middle class

– The middle class is the most important instrument of the revolution, but also the biggest obstacle to it.

– The most dangerous counter revolutionary force in society is the middle-class mentality.

– Typical features for the middle class are conservatism, self-righteousness, admiration for the upper class and a thwarted political consciousness.

– The middle class is attracted and fascinated by the wealth and social status of the upper class, just as nightflies are attracted to the lamp.

– The antisocial radicalism and unpatriotism previously associated with working class have contributed to making the middle class into a servile lackey of the capitalists.

– Revolution, when it comes, will be made at the terms of the middle class.

Be part of the change. Any change that has ever been worth talking about emanated from the middle class. Desire for this change, crave for this change, as you do so, you will have no option than to engage coz when the city prospers, so will you and I.

3 comments

  1. I am loving this article!!..feels like a slap on the face telling me to wake up! It goes beyond my tweets and blogs, I need to do something…other than just pray 🙂 I loved the sermon series by Rev. Linda, it’s a call to action!
    I must say the research you did in coming up with this article is eye opening,it’s not just a Kenyan problem,it’s a middle class problem

  2. That will never happen!!i wish it could,but the middle class r to ignorant to see whats happening around them..Their busy chasing vanity which keeps them in their comfort zones

Leave a Reply

