Before we accept and move on…

We forget too fast. I forget too fast. Much as the events of last week had a significant impact on many of us, we seem to be quickly moving on; ‘accept and move on’ is our mantra. I know a month from now we will have almost fully forgotten the pain we felt last week. I know that probably the heightened security checks will probably have gone back to being lax. I know we will all stroll back to the malls again. It is what makes us an interesting people. We are very resilient. That means that we forget some things, and that’s perhaps not too bad a thing right?My audit background still has many questions. And before we accept and move on, I would like some of these questions answered. Where did we go wrong? How do we ensure we are not back on our knees a few days, months, weeks or years from now? How do we learn from this? Of late, every time I pass through the security checks, I can’t help but see how porous they are. So what that the security guards can scan me for harmful gadgets, so what that they check the boot of my car?

What would happen if the owners of the cars before me were carrying snipers or even a bomb? Won’t these security agencies just do the same thing I would, drop the ball and run, literally? Really do I expect any less? Are they equipped for anything than that? Then there is our intelligence and the guys charged with the security of this nation. Where did they drop the ball? If it is true that this team had received warnings of a potential Westgate attack, have we become so callous and used to this attacks that we do not take any warnings seriously? Then there is the question of how did these foreigners enter this our nation? There are sooo many questions!

And where was the Kenyan in me

Truth be told, much as I want to blame the government, I have a strong feeling that I played a role in this attacks. What with the corruption in this country. I bet you that this story starts somewhere with a bribe, probably at the borders, probably at Westgate, but the trail blaze of this has corrupt deals all over it.

You could ask how that has to do with me. This is how, my bribery to the traffic cop, my bribery to the judge, that small bribery is what creates this monster called corruption in this country. And until we all take responsibility and say not on my watch will corruption flourish, then we are just pretending. Until we deal with this selfish ambition that we all seem to have, that says I will succeed at whatever cost, you can bet the porous walls will continue to exist.

At some point, we must be about more than saying that we are one, we must look at our ethics and begin to mend those walls.

The one I have a burden for…

But as we do that, I have felt strongly that the Christians in this nation we have also dropped the ball. We are the gate keepers of this nation. All the security plans without the Lord will amount to nothing.

No king is saved by the size of his army; no warrior escapes by his great strength. A horse is a vain hope for deliverance; despite all its great strength it cannot save. But the eyes of the Lord are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love, to deliver them from death and keep them alive in famine.

As Christians we must also ask ourselves the question of where we dropped the ball. I ain’t saying that bad things will never happen in this nation, but I feel I must ask myself some hard questions. Have we become so comfortable we no longer cry to God over this nation? I can tell you I for one have.

In the run up to the general elections we really cried to God for peace. Peace prevailed. Then we moved on. Once in a while when a heinous act like a governor slapping another legislator, or a Senator being obnoxious, we remember to say a prayer. But not with the persistence we once did.

And so I am praying to God, give me a burden for this country yet again. As I enter a mall, remind me to say a prayer for that mall. As I enter a parking area, remind me to say a prayer for that area. As I enter a sports center, remind me to commit it to You. Because the prayers of a righteous man availeth much.

What if we all did this? We covered this nation, the banks, the schools, the churches, everywhere our steps take us with the blood of Jesus. What if we said a prayer as part of our daily walk? Oh yes now we will have a countrywide prayer drive, but what if this was not a one of thing but part of our daily lives?

My porous walls

As I have meditated on the porous walls in our nation, I have also identified porous walls in my personal life. I have identified soft spots that the devil attacks from. I have identified areas that I need to ask God to reconstruct. Areas where I see the terrorist of my life using to derail me from my calling.

Those areas involve relationships, those areas involve a lack of surrender of specific things to God, those areas involve me myself and I, and those areas involve a lack of humility.

Nehemiah’s response to the broken walls of Jerusalem comes to mind: “They said to me, “Those who survived the exile and are back in the province are in great trouble and disgrace. The wall of Jerusalem is broken down, and its gates have been burned with fire.”  When I heard these things, I sat down and wept. For some days I mourned and fasted and prayed before the God of heaven.

The book of Nehemiah is my story as I seek to rebuild my walls. It also is the story of this nation. I love that when Nehemiah heard of the walls being destroyed, he wept. It has to start there, a remorse that causes us to weep; it starts with being moved by the state of the walls.

This is a hard one for us with the many problems we face every day as a nation. But unless we truly feel the pain of Westgate, of the trials our nation is facing, only then can we truly run to God in mourning and fasting seeking His face. Knowing that unless the Lord builds a house, the laborers labor in vain. So I am in page 1 of the rebuilding of this walls, I am in the mourning and praying. Would you join me in this page 1? For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war after the flesh: For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds…

2 comments

Leave a Reply

