Leave it all behind

The song that I wake up to every morning in the name of an alarm is a song I absolutely love by Casting Crown; Come to the well.  That it takes me several snoozes before I wake up means I get to listen to the first stanza of this song several times; “leave it all behind, leave it all behind….come to the well”. And as the year has started, I have felt strongly that this is God’s word for me for 2014; leave it all behind, and come to the well; that forget the former things, behold I am doing a new thing; that step out of the things you know and come to well.

I have struggled with this word. I was convinced this was God’s message for others around me but not my message.

You see I have a history with this verse. A couple of years back when a relationship that I was emotionally heavily invested in ended, this was the message God gave me. Forget the former things, behold I am doing a new thing. Much as this message came to pass over time, it was not the best season of my life. It was actually very difficult, and so my heart is generally afraid of this word. That change is not my thing does not help either.

Letting go of Moab

Yet this is God’s word for me and many others. Leave all you’ve known behind, I am doing a new thing. Leave all the plans you had for the year and embrace the new I am doing. Leave the failures of yester and trust that I am doing a new thing. Leave the struggles of yester, to get married, to get a kid, to date that guy, to make finances meet, leave it all behind; behold I am doing a new thing.

God is saying like Naomi and Ruth had to, pack all that was, leave it in Moab, let us go to Bethlehem, the place of promise. Only then will you perceive the new things I am doing. You need to live by faith and not by sight. Letting go of what you see and perceive to be best and seeking after what God perceives as best. 

You see I am realizing many times I hang onto passed boats. Naomi and Ruth had both lost husbands in Moab and they could have chosen to hang in there, the place of yester. After all it was also the place where they had been happily married. However, if they had stayed on, they would have missed what the Lord was going to do in Bethlehem, they would have missed the opportunity to be in the lineage of Christ, they would have missed the new thing the Lord was doing.  Leave it all behind, and come to the well.

To Bethlehem….

The Lord has new things in store for us for 2014.

He has healing, deliverance, breakthroughs; new things; in store for 2014. Yet the only way to perceive these things is to let go of 2013 victories and failures and like Paul did “but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.…”

What is God asking you to leave behind? For me it’s my struggles and pains, to no longer fan that altar, to fully embrace the new thing He is doing.

This will take courage. But He says be strong and courageous. This will take faith. If I get my eyes off the Lord, this boat will sink back to self-pity. But He says every place you step on, I have given you. Step out in faith.

Just come to the well

I still do not know the specifics of what this will mean for me this year. However, I am excited to know it is in the Hands of the One who loves me with an everlasting love. I am excited to know that He is for me. I am excited to know He says that my time has come. I am excited to know that as I step out, He goes before me. I am excited to see what God will do this year. 

Something tells me it will be a year to remember. I know it will get difficult sometimes. It already has had its fair share of challenges, but I am expectant of this Lord who tells me “For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.… So I am leaving it all behind and coming to the well.

Father, for this year, I place my trust in you. Father, my heart’s desires, I entrust them to you. Father, the paths I will take this year, I entrust them to you. I step out into the new things you are calling me to in faith. Daddy, satisfy me. I am at the well. Even when I don’t see, Lord I believe in you.

I wish you all a 2014 full of the new things He has promised. May God be your truest closest friend. May you thirst for even more of Him. May we know Him more. To an adventure full 2014!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

