My rememberance stones….

I am in the process of transitioning into and out of several things. The thing I am learning about transitions is that they are a mixed bag of exciting and scary. Exciting because the world of what God can do is endless; scary because the world of unknown is wide open and often gives birth to a world of fear. So each day I have had a different feeling about the transition. However, increasingly, in the last few days fear has had a good grip at me, I have doubted myself, I have doubted God and in the process been a bag of panic far too often.

Yester evening I ended up visiting one of those cabinets with all my important documents. As I went through these documents, God opened the door of remembrance one by one. I remembered the many places God has taken me, I remembered the times when He went far beyond my every expectation, I remembered just how faithful He has been. Those documents, old as they were, have a story of a journey that only God would have created; of victories that were so sweet, of paths that were beyond my every thought; of prayers He has answered so specifically; of revelations that astounded my heart; of a God whose desire is for me to know Him.

Perhaps this is the reason God asked the Israelites to put up stones of remembrance after they crossed Jordan River. He knew they would forget what it had taken for them to cross over this river. He knew they would forget the times He had parted the sea for them, He knew they would forget of the miracles that got them out of Egypt, He knew they would forget the miracles that set them apart as children of God. As a result, every so often He reminded them of the things He had done for them.

The journey through these old documents was my remembrance stones journey. It helped me do 2 things. It reminded me of God’s faithfulness, that when He says He will never leave me nor forsake me, He does just that. It reminded me of times when He worked out impossible situations for my good. It reminded me that we serve a limitless God.

A limitless God

Our world view is generally very limited. A few years ago, the dreams I had of what God could do were so limited. Yet every time I have relied on Him to write the story of my life, He has exceeded my every expectation.

So yes, I am in transition, but more than ever I trust Him with the story of my life. There is a path that only He can take me through, a path that even my dreams cannot get to, that’s the path I want. That’s the path I trust Him for. So I am letting go of the reins, like David I will be even more undignified than this, that I may see the fullness of Your plans of my life come to pass.

I suspect many of us have been or are in transitions of some sort. You are in between childless and a dream for kids; you are in between jobs; you are in between an impossible dream; you are in between a choice to honor God or live a life that makes sense to self; you are in between. I know it is not a comfortable place. But this one thing I pray you know, we serve a limitless God. Is there anything that is too hard for God?

Imela…

The second thing this journey down ‘old smelling documents’ lane did for me is it put a song of thanksgiving in my heart.

Sometimes we live through miracles but we do not recognize them as such. We have an amazing husband but we do not see the hand of God in this gift. We have an amazing career but we do not recognize it was God who got you there. We have an amazing family, but we grumble at every corner.

Today I read the book of 2 Sam 7. Some words David says there tag at my heart, actually many words. The chapter starts with this statement, ‘when King David was settled in his palace and the Lord gave him rest from all surrounding enemies.” God gave him rest. Only God gives rest. How many people do you know who own the world yet have no rest? And my prayer Lord even in this transition, may I know your rest from all my enemies.

Then in verses 8 and 9 God takes David through his own version of remembrance classes. Remember I took you from tending sheep in the pasture and selected you to be the leader of my people Israel. I have been with you wherever you have gone; I have destroyed all your enemies before your eyes.

But the verses that are my song today, “who am I O Lord and what is my family that you have brought me this far? And in addition to everything else, you speak of giving your servant a lasting dynasty! Do you deal with everyone this way O Lord?”

This is the song of my heart today as I look through those drawers of remembrance, who am I that you have brought me this far. And as if that’s not enough, You still are speaking amazing promises over my life. I feel loved.

Like David, all I can do is sing a song of worship to this Awesome God. God, you are amazing. Your love astounds me. I salute You Jesus, with all my heart I sing Jesus I believe in You, Jesus I belong to you, you are the reason I live.

And now O Lord, I am your servant; do as you have promised concerning me and my family. Confirm it as a promise that will last forever. For You have spoken, and when you grant a blessing to your servant O Sovereign Lord, it is an eternal blessing”.

Leave a Reply

