Send me and I will go

One of things people hardly ever share about this journey to what God calls them into is the impact of this journey on finances. I don’t blame them. In most cases when you reach the Promised Land, you forget where you came from and the hurdles you faced. The excitement of the moment makes it all worth it. So I have committed to write these things as I go along lest I forget. And yes, money is a big challenge; money is a big reason why many people do no step into God’s calling over their lives. And it is actually one of the more valid reasons to keep away from pursuing the call God has over your life. A person has to eat, purpose or no purpose; a purpose has to pay rent, purpose or no purpose; a person has to dress, purpose or no purpose; and all these need money!

This weekend I was in a group where we were meditating about the miracle of the five loaves and two fish. The thing that stood out for me is how the disciples had extremely valid reasons why they thought Jesus should send away the crowd without feeding them. They tell him they are in a deserted place; they tell Him that it is getting dark as it is late in the evening; all valid reasons to let everyone go home hungry. Why should we get stuck in the middle of nowhere? But the one I relate to most is the financial one, listen to this; ‘Late in the afternoon his disciples came to him and said, “This is a remote place, and it’s already getting late. Send the crowds away so they can go to the nearby farms and villages and buy something to eat.” But Jesus said, “You feed them.” “With what?” they asked. “We’d have to work for months to earn enough money to buy food for all these people!”

So yer, even the disciples struggled with the financial implications of the assignment ahead. So go easy on yourself, you are as normal as it comes. As I have purposed to walk into God’s assignment for my life, I have also struggled with finances. Many times I have looked at the funds I have, the needs ahead and I have wondered how tie to this equation. I have made sober decisions to cut down on my costs. But even when I do that, I still see the big gap between cash in hand and the expenses ahead.

So will you. If you pursue God’s purpose over your life, you will inevitably come face to face with the unspoken beauty of a fixed salary. Every month your account has funds coming, and all you need to think about is how to spend it. For the first time in your life, you will find yourself counting every penny you spend. You will find yourself thinking of every single cost around you. If you are like me, you will not enjoy this. If you have been employed all your life, you will like it even less. Then you will see the great need ahead and like the disciples, you will find yourself telling Christ the same things the disciples did ‘I’d have to work for months to earn enough to buy food for all these people

Is there hope?

So the question is how do you still go on even in the midst of this? How do you face this very glaring reality and still be committed to the assignment God gives you. The answer is in that last part of the statement, the assignment God gives you. This will be the reason you stick on, the reason you hang on, is because it is GOD’S CALLING OVER YOUR LIFE.

The reason you stick on is because ‘not sticking on’ is really not an option. The reason you stick on is because of the walk You have with Christ. He will come to you many times and gently and He will tell you I understand your concerns, but trust me. And if you are like me, your heart will melt and you will say okay Lord, send me and I will go.

This morning was one of those days. He whispered so tenderly into my heart. I woke up weary of the costs I need to incur to bring this assignment to being. He sent me to His word. ““How much bread do you have?” he asked. “Go and find out.” They came back and reported, “We have five loaves of bread and two fish.” Jesus took the five loaves and two fish, looked up toward heaven, and blessed them. Then, breaking the loaves into pieces, he kept giving the bread to the disciples so they could distribute it to the people. He also divided the fish for everyone to share. They all ate as much as they wanted, and afterward, the disciples picked up twelve baskets of leftover bread and fish.”

When God gives you such a word, you go find out how much bread you have and you bring it to Him.

A personal word..continued

As if He was saying just incase you are still not convinced, I have more, listen to this your big brother, David:

1 Chronicles 29:14 But who am I, and who are my people, that we could give anything to you? Everything we have has come from you, and we give you only what you first gave us! We are here for only a moment, visitors and strangers in the land as our ancestors were before us. Our days on earth are like a passing shadow, gone so soon without a trace. “O Lord our God, even this material we have gathered to build a Temple to honor your holy name comes from you! It all belongs to you!

My brother David seemed to have realized that everything he had was from God, everything. It all belongs to Him. All of it. Every single coin, every single investment, every single saving, it ALL BELONGED TO HIM.  He also realized that we are here for only a moment, visitors and strangers in the land as our ancestors before us. Our days on earth are like a passing shadow.

When you realize these 2 things, like David, you will spend every single coin you have on the assignment God gives you. You will not hold back.

Fairy tale?

And so as has been with other recent blogposts, God seems to take me back to this key question, ‘Is my faith in God and His word real or it’s a fairy story?’

I choose to trust Him. Why? The few days I have walked in obedience to this assignment have been amazing. I have never known such fulfillment. To know this is what God wants you to do! The price of coins that come from Him seems too little. Yet even most surprising is how He provides. Even as I have debated with this finances issue, God provided in such an amazing day, the day ended with a clear picture from God that He will provide. It is almost like God is telling me, ‘this headache you call finances is mine.’

So yes, it is a real concern, it should be. But this has been my experience, when He says the forests are His, the cattle on a thousand hills are His, they really are. So today I choose to bring Him my fears. Lord, my finances are limited but your finances are limitless. Open the floodgates of heaven let it rain.

Leave a Reply

