We don’t want ordinary

I had a pretty jam-packed 2015. God took us from one glory to another. My greatest lesson in the year was to be malleable, to allow God to stretch, to mold, to make me into what He wants me to be. I learned that being fixated on how God will do His thing holds many of us back. So I became malleable and in the process God did extraordinary things. I keep saying that 2015 is a year that I will sing to my children about, I finally understood why parents keep talking to their children about their past, because it is the past that makes the present possible. 

Soul longs for youHowever, as the year ended, I was very exhausted (you can read more here). All the malleability did not help; in each season I went through many strong emotions and this added to the weariness. So as we crossed over to the new year, I have attempted to tap into the hype of the season; I have attempted to see how we are entering into a new season but my spirit has refused to cooperate.

Low on fuel

I am beginning to realise that this vehicle is still low on fuel. I could flow with the wave of the new year but my spirit knows better, I need to seek the face of God. I am therefore excited about the time of prayer and fasting this month. I am trusting God for a renewal.

I get the sense that the church needs to be renewed; many people in the church are desperate for a renewal. I get the sense that this nation is in need of a renewal. Yes, excited about the possibilities that a new year brings, but still desperate for a specific touch from the Father. In need of refueling.

I have learned that there are no shortcuts to a battery recharge, there are no shortcuts to refueling a vehicle. When a vehicle is low on fuel, you just have to allow the car to seat still and absorb what it needs. Sometimes that takes 10 minutes, other times it take 3 hours, other times it takes days, depending on how low the fuel was. No shortcuts. Time. time. time.

Fully charged

But when the battery is fully charged, when this car has been serviced and fueled, the places God can take these vehicles are endless.

Lord, we won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary, we won’t be satisfied at all. So open up the sky, fall down like rain, we don’t want blessings, we want You. We want the kind of story that only You God can write; if you can use anything O Lord, You can use us; if You can write any story, Lord write it in our hearts and mind. Use us for your glory Lord. You are the food that we feed on. Give us this year our daily bread. Visit your church O Lord, renew our spirit O Lord.

Where we are tired and weary, where the enemy has harassed us and cornered us to the wall, Lord like you did to the Israelites, fight for us.

And then I hear the Lord say,2 Chronicles 20:15-17 ‘He said, “Listen, all you people of Judah and Jerusalem! Listen, King Jehoshaphat! This is what the Lord says: Do not be afraid! Don’t be discouraged by this mighty army, for the battle is not yours, but God’s. Tomorrow, march out against them. You will find them coming up through the ascent of Ziz at the end of the valley that opens into the wilderness of Jeruel. But you will not even need to fight. Take your positions; then stand still and watch the Lord’s victory. He is with you, O people of Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid or discouraged. Go out against them tomorrow, for the Lord is with you!”

To a year of greater exploits, for His glory!

Leave a Reply

