The Faith Currency

The last few weeks have been nothing short of interesting, too much has been going on. Most of what has been going on has been hurdles that I could do without, but these hurdles visited and they keep hatching other hurdles. As I have gone through these hurdles, my mind has kept thinking about this blog. I have thought about the 10,000 blogs that I have written on my head, I have thought about all the beautiful things that were destined for this blog but which were aborted in the head, and in the end I have realized that I missed blogging. So for the nth time this year, I have committed to do better. The good news is that the blogs are now being typed, now to being consistent. Nothing like a good hurdle to get you back to your first love.

One of the things that these hurdles have gotten me thinking about is this word called Faith! A couple of years ago, a friend told me  that I had more than average kind of faith, and that kind of faith can only be produced by the Holy Spirit. He said that some people got the gift of healing, some the gift of prophecy, and many other gifts, but some the gift of faith.

Every so often those words come alive in me. Last week a friend and I were visiting yet another friend. Unfortunately by the time we got to this friends place, she had already slept (there was a blackout in the estate). I was convinced that we could get her to wake up, all we needed to do was knock. You should have seen me standing outside the house, knocking with a determined look in my spirit, I was convinced that we could get her to wake up. I was totally, totally, unmovably convinced that she would wake up, ignore fact that we had knocked over times without a barge.

I have found that faith is like that moment outside her door. It does not make any sense. The logical thing to do would be to recognize that she was asleep and walk away, but faith refuses to give up. I have finally understood the meaning of this verse, “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see..” In short faith is absurd.

Faith at Work

Image result for faith quotes

When I think about the things that we have had the privilege of doing in Lapid Leaders over the last two years, the word ridiculous would have been spelt out when we started. They were unimaginable if we had thought about the money we had in the account against the dream we had, they were unimaginable when we talked about them as they had not been done before and so we did not a manual that we could just follow, but down to the last drop they have been produced by a FAITHFUL Father. He dared us to believe, and He did that which only He can!

We live in interesting times. The more educated we get, the more our world gets revelations into greater things, the harder faith becomes. In our times, it is actually easier to have faith in self than it is to have faith in God. The result is that our worldview is limited to only what self can do!

So I pray for more faith daily. As I step into the hurdles of the season, I cry for more of the Holy Spirit, the teacher that activates faith. I pray like John that I may decrease, that my plans – self, can decrease, that He may increase. I begin to see what He means when His word says that without faith it is IMPOSSIBLE to please God. And so I desire to be more faith-led.

The disappointments….

Eventually the door that I mentioned earlier was not opened; after endless knocks on the door, we eventually realized that we had to give up on the friend we were visiting waking up. Many knocks later we left feeling dejected and disappointed.

A part of me kept feeling like running back and knocking some more! Faith is a great gift, but it is even better when it produces fruit, right? When we knock and the door opens, that kind of faith is a-ma-zing! But every so often that faith is equivalent to the great men and women of Hebrews 11.

All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth

Cathedral Builders

As part of the Lapid Leaders classes we normally go through an analogy of the Cathedral of Milan. The Gothic cathedral took nearly six centuries to complete. It is the largest church in Italy and the fifth largest in the world.

Storia Della Cattedrale

It took several centuries for one of the most breathtaking cathedrals of our time to ever become the beauty that we bestow today. But even more ridiculous is that people in the year 1386, someone dreamed of this beautiful architecture and began the work to put it up. This was no mean task considering the technological, architectural advancement of that age. The builder did not have a deficiency of hurdles that they had to get past in order to put up the cathedral, but that these cathedral was eventually competed is evidence of FAITH-FULL men!

It took over 100 years for the cathedral to be constructed, which means that none of the men who dreamed of this cathedral lived to see it, ridiculous right! But that’s faith, faith is not always for the results it produces, but for the person it makes you, a man after His own heart.

So I’m realizing that each day I have a choice, am I a cathedral builder or a cathedral watcher? God gives us the opportunity to be part of the work He is doing among us, to be cathedral builders of our time but these dreams have a currency just like everything else, and that currency is faith in a God who is able to do exceedingly abundant….

And even when faith fails us, Lord help my unbelief! Lord, we long to be part of what you are doing in our generation. Help us see with eyes of faith, that we may be the Cathedral Builders that you want us to be.

One comment

Leave a Reply

